RSS Feed

And Then There Were Two!

Posted on

As I said in my last post, we recently adopted a German Shepherd puppy, K-dawg. We got her when she was 8 weeks and 1 day old! As of today she is just over 15 weeks old, and at least 35lbs. She has been gaining 3 to 4.5lbs a week since we got her. At this rate she will be over 100lbs before she is 9 months old. That will make R-dawg the “little” dog. Boy will that be a sight! Poor R-dawg is going to have a BIG little sister.

And I’m going to need a bigger car!

So K-dawg is a handful. We called her the Ten Pound Terror when we first got her (even though she was 13lbs) then the Twenty Pound Terror. Then just The Terror. Occasionally I called her the Devil’s Child or the Devil’s Spawn. It’s all in love though, don’t get me wrong. She is so full of energy and personality that I can barely keep up! So far she has learned quite a few commands.

Sit – for treats, usually.

Crate – for treats… usually.

Let’s Go – for when it’s time to go back inside after being out in the yard.

Leave It

No

Get A Drink – she gets to playing and forgets, then she drinks a whole bowl in one go, so I like to remind the dogs to drink water.

Outside

Kitty Cat – because it’s fun to watch my not-so-little puppy look for the mean kitty cats around the house.

AND she has learned to use the bell to tell us she has to potty. But now she also uses it to tell us she wants to go outside to play. She will do all her potty business outside, play, then come inside and ring the bell as soon as she goes through the door to go back out. Yeah, no. I know what she’s doing. She’s too smart for her own good!

She has also learned to walk on a leash, and that the vet is NOT a scary place. (I’m going to give a big thank you to R-dawg for that one. He loves the vet, and he was the one she followed into the office for her first visit, and he was the one she learned from. Now she loves going to see our vet friends as much as R-dawg does. Except for the car ride part… She hates the car, poor baby.)

I am really really super excited to get her started in obedience classes. I have a feeling she is going to be just as smart, if not smarter, than her big brother. She already watches and learns from him. Plus, having them both in training will help keep me busy while I suffer through the next month. Having a month off from school is a nightmare. I’m ready to go back already, and it has only been a week.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that K-dawg graduates training with flying colors and that we can move on to the next class. I also hope it helps her grow to be a friendly and well behaved girl!

Leave a Reply

